TMA Award for Royal Court’s Spur

Reporter: Caroline Bishop, first published Sun 07 Nov 2010 20:00

Spur Of The Moment, the debut play by young playwright Anya Reiss, has won the Theatrical Management Association (TMA) Theatre Award for Best New Play.

Spur Of The Moment, written when Reiss was just 17, centres on a 12-year-old girl whose crush on her family’s lodger develops into something more serious while her warring parents remain oblivious. The play premiered at the Royal Court in July this year.

The TMA Theatre Awards, which honour the best of regional theatre from around the UK, were announced in a ceremony today, Sunday 7 November, at the Lyric Hammersmith, hosted by Craig Revel Horwood.

Other winners whose work has been seen in London included Laurie Samson, who won the Best Director award for the Royal & Derngate Northampton productions of Beyond The Horizon and Spring Storm, which were seen at the National Theatre earlier this year.

Another Royal Court production, DC Moore’s The Empire, won Best Touring Production, while the Mark Morris Dance Group was awarded Achievement In Dance for its production of landmark work L’Allegro, Il Penseroso Ed Il Moderato, which played as part of Spring Dance at the London Coliseum.

Outside of London, there were wins for venues including the West Yorkshire Playhouse, National Theatre Wales, the Stephen Joseph theatre in Scarborough and the Mayflower theatre in Southampton.

The sister organisation of the Society of London Theatre (SOLT), the TMA is the major trade association for organisations involved in the performing arts across the UK, including producing and repertory venues, arts centres, theatre and dance companies and individuals involved with the arts.